Sign in to follow this  
tradegirl

"Did you buy it at auction?"

1. Why does it matter?

2. Probably, since I'm a trader

3. Do I ask about details of your job?

Why do people feel the need to ask where we buy cars from? 

because the perception is auctions are full of crap?

We say sourced from main dealer, part exchange into us or from public, whichever is true.

Sourced from carefully selected vendors and lease companies with which we have a very long working relationship through several remarketing channels for which we are an approved buyer :-) 

Every now and then we also buy direct from owners, especially if the car is in exceptional condition :-) 

Yes but the people who usually ask that question, are people you'd see hanging around auction houses themselves. And there are plenty of great cars at auction, shame about the reputation. Unless it's something like the old SMA auction, what a shambles!

Nick, you're a poet lol.

Never buy from auction personally I say 

But we do sell 90% of the publics part exchanges to auction as they are never looked after or cleaned properly , they also lie about servicing so they are not for retail .

Sort of smacks it home that if your car is dirty , dented , and part serviced YOUR getting nothing for it . 

Shock horror, buyer of car wants to know a little bit about it's history and where it came from.

My line is ‘we mainly buy from main dealer groups’. Usually is enough to end the interrogation. 

18 minutes ago, EPV said:

Shock horror, buyer of car wants to know a little bit about it's history and where it came from.

James, knowing the history of the car is one thing. How many owners, how long the last owner had it for, how many services and when the last service (prior to ours) was. That's one thing, and it's understandable. Asking on a tidy FSH, 2 owner, 10 year old car if I bought it at auction or not, is irrelevant I think. And a little rude in my opinion.