Sign in to follow this  
JDM1983

Payment Methods

Hi All,

Just wondering if I could get a bit of advice on payment methods. I’m just starting out and going to be trading approx 3 cars a month from home. On one hand, I’m reluctant to get a card machine because it’s another monthly subscription. On the other hand, I dont want to put customers off by not having one. Just wondering what you guys have done in the past or think?

Cheers

James

7 minutes ago, Blenheim Car Sales said:

3 cars a month ..................  is this  undeclared income then and its just a bit of extra cash and tax man does not know anything about it

No, doing it all above board and properly 

preferred methods

bank transfer

cash 

card in that order..................   i do have a card reader as i was loosing business by not having it, it also enables me to increase there budget, If we are £500 away i can say  put it  on a 0% CC and spread the cost over some months

I sell stuff from home upto approx 6k, only do transfer or cash and don't have a card machine and don't feel as though i have missed anything.

I prefer transfer as it saves me a trip to the bank but some customers insist on paying cash (i think they may feel empowered by it) or maybe they do cash because they are concerned if it does n't show in my account straight away they will have to hang around, when really they just want to just pay and go.

If you do get a card machine read the small print as i once got caught out quite a long time ago when i had one, with a business debit card, and got charged approx £600 pounds in fees when i was expecting a charge of approx 50p as it was then for private debit cards but as i say that was a long time ago and i am sure things would of changed.

I'm in between yards at the moment and cancelled the card machine when we left the last premises .