notchback

Starting out as a trader

Hi All,

I've recently been trading a few cars from home as a side line, I have always been involved in cars as a hobby, restoration work, panel beating, mechanical, mig welding etc etc. I've been buying a few CAT N damaged cars and repairing them properly (not like some CAT N & S repairs i've seen!) and selling them on, also a few stolen recovered cars too. 

It's gotten to the point where I need to set up as a trader, I currently have 4 private insurances running now which is an expensive way of keeping these cars on cover. I also need trade plates as some cars I have purchased haven't had a V5C so I couldn't tax them for 4 weeks waiting for DVLA to send me a new log book! Having to hire a road trailer to move a perfectly good car around is just annoying and expensive! 

So, looking for any hints / tips on setting up properly, best trader insurance deals, any tips on using trade plates etc. 
Any suggestions / recommendations welcome! :)

Just read through this forum mate. There’s so much good advice on here it’s untrue. Also read the gov website regarding trade plates etc. There’s too many things to sum up in one post for “good tips” just read every thread on here from the last month and it will answer 90% of your questions. Good luck. 

• Like 1

20 minutes ago, EPV said:

Just read through this forum mate. There’s so much good advice on here it’s untrue. Also read the gov website regarding trade plates etc. There’s too many things to sum up in one post for “good tips” just read every thread on here from the last month and it will answer 90% of your questions. Good luck. 

+1 great amount of help and detail.. All the best with it

My advice, for what it's worth.

• Setup a LTD company - costs £12. Do it yourself. These are accident damaged cars and you will get screamers.