Sign in to follow this  
Darkbluecars

Buying stock from yourself

Hi all, more of an accounting question than a vehicle question 

I've been trading since 2005 first from home and then from a Unit. I've currently got a couple of cars that now fall into the bracket of popular classics. One in particular has appeared in quite a few years of the accounts, in the opening and closing stock sections. Taking life a bit easier these days and would like to take the two out of stock into my private ownership. 

No problem with registering them in my name but as far as valuing them for tax purposes does anyone have any idea how to go about it. I've had a few over the years that I've bought as stock but then a close family member has wanted them and they've gone back out showing a nominal profit only. On the market the two cars in question would show a combined profit of approximately £4500 on their valuation. 

So the question is what do I have to pay for them. 

Any thoughts or experience would be appreciated. 

Your a trader charge yourself trade money " simples " You can sell them at what price you like cant you . 

Hi

I have experience of this.If you are a ltd company this would be a ‘connected party transaction’ and would have to be clearly stated on your annual accounts.The transaction has to be at current market value.Years ago we bought a new car,claimed the vat back and leased it to my daughter.This was clearly stated in our accounts but several years later HMRC assessed that the lease payments were below market value and wanted to tax us on the difference.I proved otherwise.So you must be very carefull otherwise it can come back to bite you in future years.

• Like 1