Marc

Car tax

Hi guys! I'm new to trading cars .I've bought many cars from auctions etc before but always registered them in my name. I'm now going to have a bash at full time motor trading albeit from home. So to the crux of the matter-ive got trade insurance but still waiting on trade plates. I've bought a car ,got v5 with just the yellow trader section sent off and since I'm using the vehicle I taxed it using green slip. When I sell the new owner will need to tax the car using same green slip.. Is this possible? I really don't want to add another name on v5.Any info v much appreciated 

Yes it is possible to tax twice (or multiple times) with the same V5C/2 reference number. 

It's best if you pay your tax by direct debit so you simply cancel the DD from your online banking when you sell the car. 

When you tax a car this way you can not drive it indefinitely. DVLA says that "within reasonable time" they need to be supplied with keeper details for taxed vehicles which are "in trade". Two three months should be OK. 

Edited by Nick M.K.

Hi Marc

Good Luck,the guys on here will keep you right.You can ask anything as long as you are not like Benji 50 who has tired out most of us with his contradictions.

29 minutes ago, Nick M.K. said:

Yes it is possible to tax twice (or multiple times) with the same V5C/2 reference number. 

It's best if you pay your tax by direct debit so you simply cancel the DD from your online banking when you sell the car. 

When you tax a car this way you can not drive it indefinitely. DVLA says that "within reasonable time" they need to be supplied with keeper details for taxed vehicles which are "in trade". Two three months should be OK. 

HI

Can you provide a link as the last letter i had from the dvla warned against dd and taxing whilst in trade