Mad Mark

Motor Trade Insurance. Hmm...

Hi guys,

I hope you're all well. 

So I'm new to the business and looking to start out with maybe 1 car at a time in the hope to sell 3-4 cars a month, however I've hit a major snag after putting in the research for the last 2 weeks I probably should have checked motor trade insurance prices first - bummer!

Phoned up Bollington insurance which I've read people got good deals from on here and was quoted over £3,000 for the year, which I just can't afford. The kind chap however did say that I'd be maybe best going down the temporary insurance route for each car I get so it allows me to drive it home etc for around £50 a car. 

The only issue I then seen was what if a buyer wants to test drive the car, would they require to be insured or do most buyers just chance it? As I'm sure there are many private sellers out there just selling the odd car without motor trade insurance.

And if the buyer did just chance it on a test drive and we got pulled over by the police who would be at fault and be hit with the points? 

Appreciate any feedback. 

If you are doing 3 or 4 a month then pay for proper insurance then you don't have to worry.

• Like 2

4 minutes ago, Row said:

If you are doing 3 or 4 a month then pay for proper insurance then you don't have to worry.

Thanks for the reply. What do you mean by proper insurance? 

17 minutes ago, Mad Mark said:

And if the buyer did just chance it on a test drive and we got pulled over by the police who would be at fault and be hit with the points? 

It be the driver at the time of being pulled over!

So the buyer gets to test drive your car, pulled over, 6 points and your car towed away. Can't see that being a sucessful sales pitch! Oh, and don't forget your Trade plates too - well, you can't have those without proof of insurance, so you've got no road tax either.

Phone around and get some other quotes. Do it properly, or not at all. The bear minimum is to be legit on the test drive!