Sign in to follow this  
arslan2468

brought a car with outstanding finance

Hi guys hope you can help, 

basically February I brought a vehicle off a private seller put it on trade and got it up for sale, I’ve done the basic HPI check which was all cleared, however now a customer come to purchase it and they flagged up it’s got outstanding finance on the car, not sure exactly what to do, please any help will be appreciated 

brought/bought? speak to the finance house, why on Earth have you cut costs on a HPI check, utter madness

Brought a car* sorry, I know I’ve messed up, I’m only a part time trader from home, I just checked if the car was cat c or D that’s about it, that came up clear so I purchased it, any idea how I find out which finance company to contact? 

Do a full Hpi that will give you an idea of whats going on like you should have to start with, your not the first and wont be the last. 

Expensive mistake to make. 

8 minutes ago, arslan2468 said:

Brought a car* sorry, I know I’ve messed up, I’m only a part time trader from home, I just checked if the car was cat c or D that’s about it, that came up clear so I purchased it, any idea how I find out which finance company to contact? 

If you brought it, you're ok - if you bought it, you've got a problem

• Like 2

Funny how people think, it worries them if it is on the register for what ever reason major or minor but the car owning a stack of money and belonging to someone else doesnt bother them.

• Like 1

no point stressing it is what it is, i presume you have tried to contact the person you purchased the car from ? if no luck there you need to trace the finance company and speak to them, your not going to be able to sell the car without clean title.

I dont even know if the finance company will speak to you with all the data protection rubbish these days, but i bet my last rolo they will want to know all about you and where the car is they own.